“It can also be more challenging to find oat milk that’s both organic and gluten-free. Certain brands tend to add a high amount of sugar to sweeten the taste of the milk, which is all the more reason to make a habit of reading nutrition labels. By using our site, you agree to our. After that point, inspect, smell, or taste the milk to see if it's spoiled. Obvious by the name, the milk is made by blending oats and water together. While the mix definitely has its perks—like reducing “bad” cholesterol and having a super-similar consistency to cow’s milk—it can also come with some negatives, experts warn. Or that women can have different heart attack symptoms? The wikiHow Video Team also followed the article's instructions and verified that they work. Once I gathered my samples, I set out to see just how well oat milk would stand up in my usual milk substitutes. “The problem is that the majority of oats and oat products are processed in plants which also process wheat, rye, and barley—all of which contain gluten,” Carr says. Top 18 Best Weight Loss Pills For Women In 2020, 9 Amazing Facts About Protein Coffee and How It Can Change Your Life, 5 Vegan Snacks To Boost Your Energy Levels. wikiHow, Inc. is the copyright holder of this image under U.S. and international copyright laws. Not every RD is on the anti-oat milk train—here’s what one nutritionist says about the trendy bev: It turns out oats in general are a lot dirtier than you think. Has the Real Power of Solar Energy Arrived? Or check out the rosy-hued oat milk latte that’s as delicious as it is pretty. This image may not be used by other entities without the express written consent of wikiHow, Inc.

\n<\/p><\/div>"}, https://www.consumerreports.org/food-safety/how-to-tell-whether-expired-food-is-safe-to-eat/, https://stuarte.co/2019/how-long-does-oat-milk-last-before-its-gone-bad-or-expired/, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJSTx9_QVR4#t=26s, https://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2019/04/25/oat-milk-recipe-how-to/, consider supporting our work with a contribution to wikiHow. While some brands are labeled as gluten-free and won’t be an issue, others are full of it. Like LeVeque, Carr’s first choice when recommending dairy-free milk alternatives to people definitely isn’t oat milk, and there are a few different reasons for that—one of them being its ability to cause inflammation, because of the down-low gluten factor (see #1 above). Did you know that a heart attack isn't the same thing as a cardiac arrest? Most oat milks probably do contain pesticides. Dental Hygiene Month is almost over, but we’re back with tips for keeping your mouth healthy at home.